Day 19

            I’d like to take a moment to be one of those sappy, sugary, lovey-dovey girls that I tend to shy away from day to day. Why the switch from farm to fuss, you ask? Because today is my boyfriend’s and mine one-year anniversary!

So of course, I just wanted to say thank you to him for helping me get through all the ups and downs that have led me to being here and doing what I love this summer. It’s been one of the most influential years of my life thanks to him, and I’m so happy to have gotten the chance to spend my time the way I did. Just as much as working on this farm has taught me to deal with all the unexpected twists and turns of life, he’s helped me do the same by discovering more about myself than I thought was possible. Teaching me to realize that there are both good and bad parts to all of us, he unknowingly taught me how to live with both gratitude and exhilaration. I couldn’t have asked for a better person to be with.

Phew…now that that’s over, time to get back to business! Because of today’s grand occasion, I decided to switch things up a bit by not heading in to the farm right at the crack of dawn. Instead, I was spoiled to a faaaabulous brunch before biking to work. Once I finally got there (around noon) I started by weeding out some microscopic bits of grass from the asparagus patch I had fully weeded a couple weeks ago. It sounds pretty annoying, I know, but it was actually pretty relaxing with the sun shining down on me and perfecting my forthcoming farmer’s tan.

Next came a new opponent—one I’d been…avoiding…for quite some time now. Remember how I said I wasn’t very good with machinery? Yeah, well, call me crazy because today was the day I chose to take on the weed-wacker. I’ve never used one before, but I’ve heard they’re pretty easily navigable, so I thought I’d give it a go. And surprise surprise—no catastrophes! In fact, I fully chopped down two huge areas, which could now be homes to who knows what kind of crops! After filling up once for gas and restringing the blade things twice, I finished feeling prettttty accomplished…. And kinda cool too!

Image

Leave a Reply

